Fool-O The Leader

I just went through my Followers page and apparently I have over 30 followers and I know barely a third of them, which is pretty petrifying if you think of it.

I mean, who are you, O Follower of My Blog? You, yes you! You never comment, and do you actually read my blog?  I’m not subscribed to yours; should I be?

Some of you have been subscribed to my blog for over a YEAR and I didn’t even know it!

This makes me confused.

"Confused" (61/365)

I don’t know why.  But then again, that’s probably because I am confused.

It’s holiday time now, and I guess a lot of us are sitting around with family and friends, or maybe, sadly, but more likely, we are sitting with our computers.

We are all checking our Inbox and Walls, and our Dashboards, of course.

Anna checking facebook

Image by TIFFANY DAWN NICHOLSON (TDNphoto) via Flickr

Of course. But how many of us actually read the 37 blogs we are subscribed to?

How many of us actually have the time, patience, or interest to do that?

Not many, I guess.

Many a time have I glanced warily at a blog that landed in my inbox, scanned the title, hesitated, and then firmly hit “Delete”.

Simply because I don’t have the time, patience or interest.

It’s not personal; I subscribed because I enjoyed one or two posts (or maybe I OD’d on your entire blog and enjoyed all of it!) but it’s been a while since then and I don’t remember why I liked it, what you wrote about, or even the fact that I subscribed!

This leads me to a sad truth; most of my subscribers are probably the same way!

I guess I am no longer confused, or petrified, because all of you 30-something Followers are not letting my words penetrate further than your inbox!

While this brings about a feeling of relief, it’s also a bit of a let-down, because if it isn’t you reading this, who is it?

Well, whoever you are, I will probably never know, and as my bedtime has fast approached, hovered, and passed, I must bid you a good night and a Happy Holidays!

Thanks for reading!

Keep UNraveling!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thoughtsofthewanderingkind
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 13:39:30

    Haha! Although I am very new to the blogging world and don’t have that problem (in fact I don’t have any followers at all I’m so new) I DO have that problem on twitter! Quite a funny thing when you sit down and think about it! Thanks for a laugh. 🙂

    Reply

  2. myheartsbeatingoutoftime
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 22:51:43

    I love reading your blog! Probably because it’s one of the few that actually get updated… and of course because it’s very interesting/entertaining to read too! 🙂

    Reply

  3. ellbrbee
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 04:02:52

    Hmmmm….. INtersting information… I actually discovered a couple of weeks ago that I have 2 followers who I have no idea who they are! I was like WHOA! Hold the phone! At least 2 people out there are reading about the intimate details of my life! WTF? It also is a little weird to me that people actually wnt to follow a total strangers life in the first place….. Hmmmmm….. Food for thought.

    Reply

  4. dietgingerale
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 09:41:24

    i read ur blog 🙂 and ❤ it

    Reply

  5. Muser
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 06:36:54

    Not everyone is like what you described. I don’t go and subscribe to blogs and then not read them. If I was no longer interested, I’d unsubscribe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

