The Water Cycle

There’s no feeling like stomping through a rain puddle in rain boots, only to remember that just because they’re called rain boots, does not mean they are waterproof.
Enter my soaking wet feet.
I went to the mall on Sunday with a girl I know. It rained and we parked far enough away for me to understand the true meaing of “wet”. It rained on Monday, and it rained today as well.

Enter the blessed land of Michigan.

There’s something interesting I’ve been thinking of lately.

It’s kind of on the theme of hypocrites.
My friends and I all have problems, you see. But each one of us calls the other and sobs hysterically, acting as though we are the only ones with such difficulty.

The “listening ear” friend nods wisely and hten dispenses sage advice, based on her own past experiences.

Two days later, she’s making the phone call, crying her eyes fit to beat the weather.

I had this very situation recently…actually, more than once.

My friend was going through a little challenge, adn I looked into my Chronicle of All Things Challenging and passed on some advice that had been given to me.
But now I’m back in her situation, MY original situation, and she’s giving me the same advice I gave her- the stuff I heard on my last round of this!

It’s really interesting, is what I’m saying.
To listen with my jaw hanging open as she consoles me and calmly tells me every single dratted thing I told her only last week.

Hypocritical and weird.
You never can judge a friend until you’re in her shoes, and once you’re in her shoes, she’s gonna be the one who wants to judge you. 🙂

Remember that! And don’t forget to polish your umbrella!

Keep UNraveling!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ellbrbee
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 12:35:06

    Judging…. hmmmm. Sometimes its helping when you don’t know you need it. Friends are the people who destroy your fantasies but to make up for it they give you a better one in return. Friends don’t judge or they aren’t friends.

    Reply

  2. Muser
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 06:21:15

    Polish . . . my . . . umbrella?

    Reply

  3. unravelmythoughts
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 13:55:58

    As in shine it up and prepare it for use, not being of the Polish nationality, where people talk slow and with three dots in between each word…like…this…

    LOL

    Reply

    • Muser
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 03:08:31

      I wasn’t even thinking of Poland, but HA! No, I was just confused because
      I’ve never heard of anyone polishing their umbrellas.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

