The Absent-Minded Student

Excessive opening of a refrigerator should be ...

Image via Wikipedia

I left the refrigerator door open again. AGAIN!

I turn around after being in the kitchen for a good twenty minutes, deliriously drying dishes, to discover the cold-pantry, the Place Of All Things Good, the Sustenance Box, the Ice Box, gaping open, pregnant with delicious foods…WHO LEFT IT OPEN??

me.

I need to blog about this!

No. Focus. We are not blogging about the fact that every time I do a single thing, I automatically figure out the best way to blog about it. We are not mentioning that these very words have been floating around my brain all day, waiting for the right opportunity to come out, in full blogger’s glory.

No. Not today. Today we are writing about my focus, or lack of it.

I am the girl that tends to leave the refrigerator door open.

I am not quite sure why.

Rest assured, however, that this has happened more than thirty five times this past week.

And each time, I am equally astonished.

I cannot explain this rare phenomenon.

However, I can elaborate. Unfortunately.

 

Last night, I had a wonderful time with my friend. After picking her up in my dad’s car from her house, which is conveniently located around the block from me, we drove back to my place to get my forgotten iPod. I like having a large selection of good songs to play in the car.

I won’t describe our various destinations, but you can assume we had a glorious time (ok, that sounds old fashioned. A mad sick frikkin awesome time), involving too-loud music, excessive laughter, and slightly illegal road maneuvers….kidding. Maybe. Anyways, around a few hours after we started out, we ended up in the 7-11 parking lot for the 3rd time that night. We were gonna try and get free refills for our slurpees.

Two Slurpees in a car cupholder.

Image via Wikipedia

 

Don’t sit there like that waiting in suspense, because I’m getting straight to the point. We got free refills. (I love you Ricco!) We also got ourselves one nice cold long walk home.

I locked the keys in the car.

I know, right? Ok. I know. I KNOW! Stop LAUGHING. Gosh.

Seriously.

It’s embarrassing. I’ll admit it. Well, it gets worse. Here’s what I did next.

I called my dad, my house, and my friends sister, none of whom answered. Of course. Ricco was looking nervous. He’s the benefactor of the free slurpees. Don’t tell his manager, or I’m gonna have to start dishing out 1.29 cents every night….break my bank. I assured Ricco that we were going to get our free goods soon, as we were too busy to refill at the moment. For now, I just needed someone to pick us up so I could get another set of keys.

Yeah, I locked my phone in the car as well. Thank goodness my friend brought hers out.

Locks

 

And so I decided to call my best friend, who has a car. And I couldn’t remember her phone number. FOR THE LIFE OF ME! I COULD NOT REMEMBER IT! She’s my best friend, and in case you’re thinking that it’s no big deal and I’m over-reacting, let me put you very, very straight. It is a big deal. But I was over-reacting anyways.
I call this girl alot. And I could dial her number in my sleep. Usually. Overall, it was NOT OK. I called her house phone, but they didn’t answer either. (Yes, I was able to remember that, ok?) I’m kind of glad they didn’t answer because asking her mom for her cell would have been really embarrassing.

“Yes, hi, how are you, yes, this is your daughters best friend since before high school. I understand your daughter has had the same phone number for the past four years, but I seem to have forgotten it? I’m locked out of my car…?” Right. Not happening. Also, it’s my fault cuz even though I DO know her number, I use speed dial ALOT. Always. But, losing focus…

So, my friend and I, we ventured out into the cold, chilly night, and we walked. We laughed, we giggled, we shivered, but mostly, we walked. It’s not more than ten blocks to home, so it wasn’t too bad. Only I was wearing my cute-boot heels, and a Little Sweatshirt That Couldn’t. But it did anyways.

For the future, always dress for the weather, even when inside a vehicle. And bring a spare set of shoes. And some water. And spare keys. Maybe a brain as well…

Losing focus, OK.

Well, I ran home and snuck the spare keys from my mom’s purse; I was much too mortified to tell anyone at home. My friends sister, a bride who is getting married tomorrow night, graciously deposited us at 7-11, but not before reassuring me with her own horror story. Apparently, she and her groom locked themselves out of their apartment with their car keys inside. Nice.

I didn’t feel too bad afterwards, and finally getting more Slurpee (Coke) in my system made me feel way better. I told Ricco and I told my mom today and neither of them where half as horrified as I was.

But you see, that story really does illustrate my absent mindedness, does it not? I keep the fridge open when it should be shut and I shut the car door when it should be open. Oh, and to top it all off, when I got home, I promptly remembered my friends number.

I just accidentally opened up Microsoft Outlook. Ignore me.

Roll call in class goes something like this for this homeschooled girl.

“Toes?”
“Here.”
“Limbs?”
“Here.”
“Various other body parts?”
“Here.”
“Mind?
“Mind?”
“Absent.”

Ha ha. I’m getting kind of hungry, so I’ll go see if there’s any leftover slurpee in the fridge. Just as long as I don’t leave it open!

 

Keep UNraveling!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. temimagirl
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 04:40:57

    that is rediculous

    Reply

  2. Tehila
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 14:16:36

    WOW! I have no clue how you always manage to write so much about one topic and keep it interesting! Lol I was cracking up the whole time! :P And don’t worry about it, everyone locks themselves out of their car once in a while :)

    Reply

  3. cheerycheerleader
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 14:16:11

    I love your blog! :D

    Reply

  4. ellbrbee
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 11:27:54

    POST MORE! I started posting again, now its your turn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

