You’ve Been Through Class, Now Here’s the Test

I sometimes feel that I wasn’t prepared well enough for life.

Sure, the nine months in the womb were probably helpful in certain ways, but I’m referring to other things, as I’m sure you have figured out.

There are those awkward social moments, for example, where I just don’t know what to say, and a quick review of academic learning brings up nothing but historical wars and other painful situations between humans, none of which seem appropriate, for the most part.

There are people who walk in and out of my life, but sometimes the “in” part is so startling, alarming, or just plain surprising that  I simply don’t know what to do. You know those people; unwanted, came at the wrong time, whatever it is, that’s them.

There are emotional moments, where I feel alone, grasping at straws that are in every 7-11 in the world, but none strong enough to support my tears.

There are physical moments, broken bones, bruised limbs, pain that no one ever taught me what to do with.

And there are plenty of other things, of course, times that are so unique, so confusing and twisting in their own way, that no one could ever possibly prepare me for.

I found the following on Dr. Ben Kim’s website, drbenkim ‘dot’ com.

“…Children are coached on how to jump through a thousand scholastic hoops. Yet by far the most important decisions they will make are about whom to marry and whom to befriend, what to love and what to despise, and how to control impulses. On these matters, they are almost entirely on their own.

We are good at teaching technical skills, but when it comes to the most important things, like character, we have almost nothing to say.”

– The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement

Although  in Orthodox Judaism, the Torah guides us regarding character and many other things I still feel that that article has a large, painful point.

Sometimes I am just so confused, so lost, wandering through painful scenarios that I have no idea how to handle, and a little guidance would be helpful. Do you know what I mean?

Don’t any of you feel this way sometimes, just treading water, trying to figure out where the heck the shoreline disappeared to?

This happens all the time to me, and sometimes the only thing I can do is wait it out, until salvation arrives, in wahtever form it chooses to take on…

Keep UNraveling!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shayne
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 08:41:26

    … the problem really is that because of the times we live in and the general disintigration of cultures, the small nuances of Torah teaching and learning are becoming less and less clear…. disappearing in a way. If torah is given over properly then it encompasses all of those things and more. It is not a book but a manual. But even saying that does not do it justice. Torah is a way of life. Its the answers to every question any person has ever come up with. And the answers, the teachings, and the secrets of the world- physical, emotional, social, spiritual, transcendental… its all out there. Some of its hidden, some of its hard to find, and some of it is right in front of our noses and we are just too blinded by the shiny lights of the world around us to see it.
    That is my take on this issue.
    Email me though… i’d like to know more.

    Reply

  2. temimagirl
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 06:07:10

    On one hand I’m thinking…
    1) WHAT HAPPENED??? on the other hand: 2) what DIDN’T happen?
    Yeah I think you are riding the wave of uncertainty.
    Its okay, I ride it too.

    Reply

  3. Susan J. Flyweel
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 06:27:49

    Totally know where you’re coming from. While I do feel like, if they make such a big deal about “preparing us for life,” our schools should teach us these things, I also feel that as people we should search for our own answers on the path of self-improvement.

    Reply

  4. Tehila
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 11:53:31

    Yeah, I know the feeling.
    But seriously, we’re so lucky cuz at least we always have Hashem to turn to… think about all thos non Jews out there, that’s one of my favortie parts of being Jewish. 🙂
    Hope whatever it is works out!
    Love you!
    Looove,
    Tehila

    Reply

Leave a Reply

