A Little Goes A Long Way

Do you know how the Internet works? Your brain? How about the world in general?

I was just thinking that because I am in middle of a wonderful book about a computer hacker. I enjoy the thrill of espionage, and it got me to thinking how anyone can hack this blog and I would never know.
The book also led my thoughts to the fact that I rely on the Internet so strongly, yet I have absolutely no idea how it works.

Google is helping me out with that, but only a little bit.
I cannot wrap my mind around routers, IP addresses, code and databases.
Code bothers me the most.

How can a series of numbers and letters comprise an entire software? If that’s even the way softwares are made; I feel like a blundering idiot here, I am that clueless.

So, the Internet is hard enough for me to get, and I asked myself if I understand my brain.

Neurons zooming around can conjure the image of my best friend? A lake? How?

And then, being the artist, I thought of a beautiful painting.

If I showed you a faint, swirling brush stroke in a light rosy shade, you would never believe that it is part of a life-like drawing of someone’s face, right?
After all, it’s just a brush stroke.

But bits and pieces, strokes and dots, letters and numbers, all the tiny things really do count.
It’s in the detail.
Everything needs to be built of SOMETHING, and you can’t possibly get the whole picture unless you start with something.

And that something has to be a pencil stroke, a line of code, whatever it is, it’s gonna be small.

It makes sense now, it really does. Music is the same way, for those of you who have a listening ear. 🙂
There’s this whole symphony going on, but when you break it down, it’s just a series of notes, plain and simple.
That astounds me sometimes, that you can take two keys on the piano and make up BILLIONS of songs out of them.

CCAACAC is one combination, using a C and an A note, and then CACCACA is another one…you get the picture.

Internet still doesn’t make so much sense to me, but at least I am beginning to wrap my mind around it a little.
I might even venture out into the scary world of programming…you never know!

Speaking of venturing, all this talk of “A little goes a long way” reminds me of the famous saying: “Every journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.”

One can break EVERYTHING down into small steps, even that journey.

And THAT thought is really going to carry me over the next few months, because I know life is gonna be a crazy journey.
But each step counts, right? Every step I take in the right direction is another line of code, another stroke in my self-portrait, another note in life’s musical.

And before we know it, our journey is over, a long journey, sometimes harrowing, but when broken down, it’s not that bad at all…

Keep UNraveling!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. johnnathanielfernando
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 12:27:20

    i once tried to learn programming. i donw;oaded a lot of ebooks about codes and stuff but i eventually dropped it all because i guess it was too complicated for me. anyways i hope you do better than me. good luck and thanks for posting!

    Reply

  2. Susan J. Flyweel
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 07:04:25

    Hmm…
    That was deep.
    So deep I’m drowning.

    And I’m probably taking a programming elective this year, so maybe I’ll be able to answer some of your questions one day.

    Reply

  3. temimagirl
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 09:49:40

    you have some explaining 2 do young lady!! i have tried calling u and left a pathetic message and u dont respond 2 emails!! xoxo the girl who returned from israel thursday!!

    Reply

  4. Gi
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 13:07:20

    i like this post…

    Reply

  5. Muser
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 01:48:03

    Hey! It’s been a while. Nice post! Very true.

    What book was it? (I know, I’m so predictable, right?)

    (This is loser, by the way. I was in a strange mood that first time I typed in my name, and the computer remembered it and always had it typed in already. So I just never bothered changing it until now.)

    Reply

    • unravelmythoughts
      Dec 30, 2011 @ 14:21:53

      Oh! It was such a great book: I wish I could tell you! Let me think…in the meantime, I kinda liked loser, it cracked me up! But Muser is a good twist on that! I think the book was called…well it had a shiny green cover…oh, gosh! Hang on…oh gosh just spent twenty minutes searching can’t find it!! will keep trying!

      Reply

      • Muser
        Jan 03, 2012 @ 03:09:47

        Wait a minute . . . a book about a computer hacker with a shiny green
        cover (ha ha! a computer hacker with a shiny green cover!) . . . could
        you possibly be referring to Brain Jack by Brian Falkner?

        Reply

        • unravelmythoughts
          Jan 03, 2012 @ 03:22:40

          yup howd u guess???? i basically spent an hr and a hlf trying to find it online and then i remembered tht my bro read it so i asked him and he was like brain jack? and i was like dang it. y didnt i ask him earlier????? so u read it?

          Reply

          • Muser
            Jan 05, 2012 @ 05:59:42

            Yep, I read it, and that is how I guessed. Otherwise it would be kind of scary. Me knowing that, I mean.

            So what’d you think of the book? I thought it was really freaky but really cool.

            Reply

Leave a Reply

