The Good News and The Bad News…

My best friend’s brother is engaged! That’s what I was talking about in the last couple of posts, that little something that I would be saying soon!

I’ve known about it for weeks of course, and I had to do a bit of stumbling and improving the truth when necessary. But I got through the awkward, “uh, can’t really say…” moments, and now I can tell the whole world! Wahooo! I’m so happy for them! Oh, I wonder if they’re on onlysimchas.com? Oh, they are!

Speaking of engagements, my shiur counselor from camp got engaged a few weeks ago! I seem to have a lot of weddings to attend this summer.

Which brings me, sadly enough, to this summer.

OK. I’m going to vent right here, right now. To you. Plug your ears.

I have made 40 phone calls. To 30 people. For 20 weeks. I’ve counted to 10. At least 5 times. In the past 4 hours. There are 3 potential jobs. With 2 complications. 1 result? Frustration.

My main goal? Make money, while being spiritually safe (and having a blast. This last one is not so important because I am reasonably confident that I have fun wherever I go.)

How I plan to achieve this goal?  By working with my other best friend as a lifeguard, for the first four/five weeks of summer.

So what’s stopping me? Well, out of all the random camps and bungalows that I have called, few need two inexperienced lifegurads who are entering their senior year. One place will give us a bungalow but no salary (WTH?) and the other will pay around $25 an hour, but no accomadations. (WTH?)

Yet a third place is offering us day camp positions, where we would both work. However, this is in Far Rockaway, and I don’t know the salary. Nor do I know anyone inFar Rockaway, NY to board at.

I could also work in a random public school behind my house, as some sort of nursery teacher. This would pay less than $10 an hour, I’d be working for eight hours a day and I would still be in town.
Not such a bad thing because most of my friends seem to be bumming around the big D for the first half. But I’d rather leave town.

Anyways. Those are my options now, with hopefully more to come.

My friends birthday was today, and I bought her a slurpee. My other friend’s brother just got engaged, and I wished her congratulations.

Sometimes the world ar0und me seems so full of laughter and cheer, but it’s all frozen to me, it’s all fake, because I am not happy.
Happiness comes from within, and right now, the only thing that’s inside me is feeling lousy. I hate this.
I wish the perfect summer job would just fall into my lap, the way I KNOW it will, because it always does.

No use crying when it always works out great anyways, right? But no, I always stress out about summer jobs, it’s my yearly pre-summer opportunity to go crazy. Why miss out on that? Why?

No, it’s gonna be a great summer. Two weddings, and my brother’s bar mitzvah, getting ready for college and saying goodbye to all my senior friends who are leaving to Isreal in the fall….what a fun filled summer.

Happy and sad. They always go hand in hand. But that’s ok because that’s human life. Ups and downs, rise and fall, right and wrong.
I rock at being human!

Keep UNraveling!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. loser
    May 13, 2011 @ 04:59:21

    “I have made 40 phone calls. To 30 people. For 20 weeks. I’ve counted to 10. At least 5 times. In the past 4 hours. There are 3 potential jobs. With 2 complications. 1 result? Frustration.”

    Ha ha! I actually laughed out loud at that. Nice writing, R!

    Mazel tov to the people you mentioned. Good luck with you summer plans. Whatever happens, you’ll have fun. Do your hishtadlus and the rest is in G-d’s hands, right?

    Reply

  2. loser
    May 13, 2011 @ 06:00:42

    Whoops! I wrote your name. You can shorten it to R if you don’t want your name out. Sorry!

    Reply

  3. goodlookin'
    May 19, 2011 @ 08:57:58

    Sigh…I wish I could say I made some of those calls…sorry you had to go through that alone

    Reply

  4. alicia blog
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 13:55:04

    keep up good work there! you will get the reward grom GOD! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

