The Ramble 7

Be forewarned, people. This episode in my super cool life includes spicy hot-dogs, creepy cats, and freaky African-Americans. That being said, let’s begin.

I had a great weekend. Shabbos I slept in late, had a wonderful lunch that lasted four hours and was full of fascinating conversation, and good food as well, and then I went to sleep for three hours. After that I took a walk with my esteemed hostess/friend who I miss like friggin crazy right now, legit (That was for her).

After Shabbos we had a long talk that lasted late. Late, babe. Late.

Sunday we got up early. Early, babe, early. We had a Bat Mitzvah to attend, and this was no ordinary Bat Mitzvah. This was my friend’s grandmother’s Bat Mitzvah. Takes talent, I know, but a group of twelve 50 yr olds and up were gathered together to celebrate this momentous occasion, which, unfortunately, they had missed out on previously.

So it was fascinating, especially the singing parts, where the Bat mitzvah Participants sang one phrase of Ashrei and the audience sang the next. Actually, only a couple of old men did, but hey, let’s not zoom in on that too much. The speeches were reasonably boring, as speeches should be, but I’m  not complaining the catered brunch TOTALLY made up for it, and then some!

Every type of food imaginable salads, bagels, kugel, astronomically topped deserts, hey you get the picture. Actually you don’t, because there is none. Oh, just ignore me.

After the filling meal we went to friend’s grandmother’s for an after party, where the theme seemed to follow the way of my week-  food. Lots of it, and then me and my friend went to her house, where I attempted to draw her-it came out good, as usual, but not looking like her, as usual:(- and then we went to her older brother’s baseball game.

This stuff could be pretty cool if her brother got to pitch he can do 75 mph but he’s too old to pitch, so there were a lot of balls. Hey goodlookin’ I can read your mind. I know I can. Hee Hee.

The game was equal to the speeches, with about the same amount of action as sports games should NOT be, but hey whatever. Good game, his team won.

Then we went home- being treated to ices by friend’s other grandmother on the way, and hung around for a while.

Here’s where the hot dogs come in. We had a BBQ to celebrate my friend’s lil bros 8th birthday, and all 64 hot dogs were nice and spicy. After eating two, I raced my friend to see who could finish first, and I won, only because I saw hers was half-gone, so I got competitive.

After the cake was brought out, two other brothers had a hot-dog wolfing contest, and I can’t even remember who won but it was pretty funny to watch. THen all the kids including me had a final contest, (which I won, hee he) and so I completed my fourth or fifth hot dog; I can’t remember.

But the next day I sure could.

I’m getting ahead of myself. So, BBQ ending, and lots of good pics and gr8 vids-I gotta post the hot dog video- my friend graciously packed for me, and we got ready for bed.

Two a.m. we were fast asleep.

Three a.m. I awoke to see, actually, to feel, a dumb stupid creature on my legs. Let me give you a brief prologue.

It was last week, I went to my friends house, I saw they had a cat, I freaked. I never liked non-humans much, but I learned to like dogs one summer, and I still do. Well, based on that past experience, I made a decision to get to like him, and worked towards that goal.

It worked. On Motzei Shabbos, nearly a week later, I was outside at night, when dumb friggin Maverick came up to me to get petted. Or pet. As I was generously scratching his head, this hairball coughing, perfectionist with a tail that’s taller than New York skyscrapers shook his head at me and tried to bite me.

I freaked out the way any normal person might, and moved my hand away. Dumb Maverick proceeded to bat at me with outstretched claws, tearing some seams in my shirt. I ran inside.

Needless to say, I am back at Phase One with cats. The Fear Phase. My friend says he’s moody.

Jump back to three a.m. He’s on my bed, I’m petrified. I tell my friend to send him away. She sleepwalks, but does it. He comes back. I freak again. After lon agonizing moments filled with, “Get him away, get him AWAY!”, she finally locks him in the laundry room. I spend the next hour imagining I hear him chewing his way through.

I woke up at six o’clock because I had to catch a bus from Baltimore to Manhattan. I caught it.

I’m in Manhattan here and now, and you know how supposedly no1 got time in this city? It’s true. I’m about to go out to have Indian food, so I’ll finish off my day’s journey later.

Keep UNraveling!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tehila
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 00:04:38

    hey now i owe you 3 punches so make sure to caome baq 2nd half so i can punch you (jk!) but excuse me, i was NOT sleepwalking, i was half asleep, there’s a big difference u know (ok maybe not but i4sure wasnt sleepwalking)
    neways im glad u had a good time & i luv u omg miss you like nuts 😦 & i wanna c u again b4 i go 2 israel so u rly gotta come

    Reply

  2. E
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 00:48:32

    haha. You are insane! That cat was just playing! Have fun in Manhattan.

    Reply

  3. goodlookin'
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 02:24:54

    u should know that i only thought of what u thought i was thinking of because u said u could read my mind but lol that made me laugh and so did the whole blog. cats in general are creepy, i agree. dogs are cooler. sorry all u cat lovers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

