Short, Sweet and Beautiful

Guys, this is one of my fave poems from when I was much younger. It is by a poet named Henry Wadsworth Longfellow; you may have heard of him; he wrote Hiawatha. Anyways, I have always loved this poem, because it’s short, sweet and to the point!
Keep UNraveling!
THE ARROW AND THE SONG
I shot an arrow into the air,
It fell to earth, I knew not where;
For, so swiftly it flew, the sight
Could not follow it in its flight
 
I breathed a song into the air,
It fell to earth, I knew not where;
For who has sight so keen and strong,
That it can follow the flight of song?

Long, long afterward, in an oak
I found the arrow, still unbroke;
And the song, from beginning to end,
I found again in the heart of a friend.

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

ooh comment don’t you love it? I know, I’m crazily obsessed. Let’s try a different approach; I’d love to see your comments!
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ellbrbee
    May 27, 2010 @ 11:50:57

    You’re right its beautiful! It isn’t my favorite but it is deffinetly up there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

