Parallel Parking

Hey, so because of the alarming influence that one author friend of mine has on me, I’m writing this page. “Parallel Parking”; the phrase alone is enough to send the average teen into a frantic frenzy, complete with gasping, hyperventilating, or the average basic repetition of, “OMG! OMG! OMG!” Yeah, you get the picture. Fortunately enough, I wasn’t one of those teens.(Maybe due to the fact that I have seen my mom skillfully maneuver our red 12-seater van into tight spots on countless occasions-you go mom!) At least, I wasn’t freaking out until my dad said, “Get into reverse, you’re too close to the curb.” Then, in my aforementioned van, I suddenly came to the realization that…”Dad, am I parallel…PARKING?” His response, of course, sent me into the typical teenage reaction.

However, thank G-d, I got through it; I did OK. So I wasn’t too nervous when I left my house at 8:15 tonight to go learn how to park with my driving instructor and my author friend.

My friend went first, and she did wonderfully, parking regularly. Then it was my turn. I don’t remember much of it, but I guess that’s a good thing. We had to back into a spot, pull out, back in, and pull out again, three times. First time was maybe OK, second time I nearly hit the cone, and third time…I honestly don’t remember.:) But the parallel parking was fairly easy for me; I did three beautiful parks, hit no cones, and there’s an ant on my screen.

No, that wasn’t to see if you’re paying attention, I know you are (I’m such a suck up, right?) But there really is a little black thing crawling over my mom’s laptop. At first I’m like, “Huh, is that my mouse cursor?” Because they are soo lifelike nowadays. As I’m sure you cant tell, I just discovered that “CTRL” + “I” = italics,  which I obviously get great pleasure from writing in. Just kidding, I always knew that shortcut, but still, it’s fun! And I just opened Google desktop, so maybe don’t try out that combination- I think “SHIFT” got in there! But, where was I?

Oh, the ant, which I keep accidentaly spelling, “aunt” but you didn’t have to know that, that’s what backspace is for! Well, too late, ha ha! So, the ant is gone, and now back to the parallel parking. It was great. I executed some “iffy” turns on Greenfiled Rd, but otherwise my 30 min. drive after parking was reasonabally good. As long as my Driver’s Ed instructor aint reading this, I’m cool! Should I post this under Ramble or Driving? Hmmmm……Keep UNraveling!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. goodlookin'
    May 27, 2010 @ 11:09:50

    Hey dude. nice blog. im totally diggin the ant thang. rock on.

    Reply

  2. ellbrbee
    May 27, 2010 @ 11:55:56

    haha. Unfortunatly I had that teenage reaction when he said parallel park. Yikes!! I don’t think I did too bad but I think you did better. But you knwo what? I think that our driving instrutcter tells us both the same things and I think that we drive the same way and make most of the same mistakes. Weird huh!

    Reply

  3. ellbrbee
    May 27, 2010 @ 11:56:24

    goodlooking Do you play guitar?

    Reply

  4. Dad
    May 28, 2010 @ 01:24:04

    Nice. You forgot to say, “Go Dad!” for the parking part. 🙂

    Reply

  5. goodlookin'
    May 28, 2010 @ 05:25:55

    i dont play guitar

    Reply

  6. ellbrbee
    May 29, 2010 @ 07:39:22

    oh. and ren how did you do on your test? I passed with 75 out of 80. YAY! when are you going to the secratary of state to get your permit?

    Reply

  7. shifs
    May 31, 2010 @ 07:56:42

    i did parallel parking today and it wasnt so bad- was a lot ezer than backing into space w/o hitting pole or cones! i dont know how often i can go on this cuz our filters can get really moody and dont always let. neway, i agree w goodlookin- nice blog dude and rock on!!!

    Reply

  8. shifs
    May 31, 2010 @ 08:00:31

    btw wen i said backing into space i meant perpendicular parking (is there such a word?)

    Reply

  9. unravelmythoughts
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 02:22:24

    ellbrbee did you ask goodlookin if they play guitar bc they said thang? lol just got that. or are you interested? bc goodlookin is a girl, so dont get ur hopes up! tee hee hee. and yes shifs, you invented the word but its a good one and thanks for liking my blog ill rock on, lol!

    Reply

    • ellbrbee
      Jun 03, 2010 @ 04:35:50

      haha very funny. No it just sounded like she should be plaing guitar. I don’t know I just got that weird feeling so i asked. I figured hey it couldn’t hurt right? And I’m not interested in guys who try to talk like gangsters. but thanks anyway:)

      Reply

  10. UFO
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 02:26:01

    wow i like this blog

    Reply

  11. goodlookin'
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 09:43:43

    i think guitar is really cool though. i kinda wish i knew how to play

    Reply

Leave a Reply

